30 second dance party + Boozin Bitches

When we say things like ‘people don’t change’, it drives scientists crazy.   Because change is literally the only constant in all of science.   Energy,  matter, its always changing,  morphing,  growing, dying.   It’s the way people try not to change that’s unnatural.   The way we cling to what things were instead of forming new ones.  The way we insist on believing,  despite every scientific indication, that everything in this lifetime is permanent.  Change is constant.   How we experience change, that’s up to us.   It can feel like death,  or it can feel like a second chance at life.   If we open our fingers,  loosen our grips, go with it,  it can feel like pure adrenaline.   Like at any moment,  we can have another chance at life.  Like at any moment,  we can be born all over again – Grey’s Anatomy

If you don’t realise it already,  I can advise you that I’m a huge Grey’s Anatomy fan. I could easily sit down and watch 6 episodes without blinking.   I’m naturally attracted to anything medical.   I love gory stuff and try to remember all the terminology.  (….For future reference….  You know, for when I have to perform an emergency thoracotomy in the field..).  I kind of thrive in stressful and traumatic/disaster situations.  My compulsive attraction to Grey’s Anatomy has been formed by my devout appreciation for the relationship between Meredith and Cristina.  They have a number of poignant moments in the series that I want to replicate in my own relationships.  I want their closeness.

You are my person
There’s no doubt that to be someone’s person there exists a mutual respect for each other.   For each others skill and mind.  But you can’t have this bond without the acknowledgement of souls.   Sometimes I have the feeling with people that our souls have been talking to each other preceding our physical meeting.  This will happen also if you’ve shared past lives.   I’ve also experienced this!  I haven’t read this anywhere – it doesn’t come to me through anything I’ve read.  I’ve only experienced it.

I know it all sounds fluffy duck.  I usually reread my posts about 10 times…..Because I forget what I’ve written.   Because these posts write themselves. .I only stop to edit and ensure that it kind of flows once its finished.  When I’m in a space that is very ego driven,  sometimes I cringe with what people are going to think.   That doesn’t last very long.  But in that moment,  I wonder where the hell does all this come from?  That doesn’t last long either.   I’ll just be grateful.

Meredith and Cristina acknowledge that ‘You are my person’.  Their people (friends/colleagues) refer to them as the twisted sisters.   Their people also acknowledge that they (Cristina & Meredith) are each others ‘person’.  Your person is defined as that person you can count on, that will without question, silently help you out of one of those predicaments…What’s that movie – ‘I know what you did last summer’… they’re the ones that will help you dispose of the body… so to speak! (.. and its a metaphor people.!!.I’m not advocating hit n runs)

‘If I murdered someone.  She’s the person I’d call to help me drag the corpse across the living room floor – She’s my person’ – Cristina

They live in a perilous bubble.   Surgery is their ‘happy place’.  The place where they feel alive. They don’t seem to be able to carry this reverence through to their personal lives.  Their personal lives are dark,  challenging and complicated.  (They’re twisted sisters  after all!)They are brilliant when ego is engaged, when they feel validated. It’s the lack of personal empowerment felt by both of them that leads them to seek answers from each other.   This might be the wrong way to seek enlightenment but nevertheless,  a bond is formed.   I’m not going to go into etheric cords here – I’ll park it for another post.  Suffice to say they’re not healthy!

I seek what they have with every one of my relationships.   But generally speaking you don’t have a connection like this with everyone.  As referred to in my soul mates description guide,  there are many levels, and levels within levels.

30 second dance party

‘Dance or you’re fired’ – Meredith

Despite being twisted sisters, M & C introduced the concept of a 30 second dance party to me.   Take time out from everything and CELEBRATE!….By yourself..or….with anyone you want to celebrate with. As my friend Jehanne puts it, no one can remain angry with you if you respond to their emotion with an interpretive dance move!!

I have many other favorite GA characters as well, Miranda Bailey for example.   ..but I mainly idolise Cristina. ….

‘Oh screw beautiful. I’m brilliant. You wanna appease me? Compliment my brain’

‘Have some fire.  Be unstoppable.  Be a force of nature.  Be better than anyone here and don’t give a damn what anyone thinks’

‘If you want crappy things to stop happening to you, then stop accepting crap and demand something more.  Being aware of your crap and actually overcoming your crap are two very different things’

‘So do you like being the big spoon or the little spoon’

Cristina – I’m not a spoon.  I’m a knife.  And I’m going to stab you in the eyeballs’

– Cristina

 

…..but I’d love to have a Miranda in my life. But Callie is a strong character that we can all learn from. She dances literally to her own tune.. and in her underwear, by herself with the tunes cranked. Anyone that can get into that space is someone I want to know! !

I can’t go. We have to dance it out. That’s how we finish’ – Cristina

Boozin Bitches and MIT

‘We’re adults.  When did that happen?  And how do we stop it?’ – Meredith

In Hong Kong I rediscovered myself.   I had time to look after my body.  I formed strong relationships.   Strong relationships are formed quickly when you travel and this is one of the attractions for me.  I was reminded of this when one of our group contacted me yesterday (Miss Biggsy). We shared a moment or 10.   I’m forever describing the concept of a MIT  – Moment in Time to people.

Definition : Moment in Time
A piece of time that happens that is outrageous.   You know you’ll never experience it again, despite knowing there’ll be other MIT’s, this one is unique.

Define : Boozin Bitches
The name of a group of young beautiful smart female expats residing in Hong Kong between 2012-2014. They share common interests.  The magic when they meet is far greater than the sum of their individual greatness.

It’s ironic that I was part of a group called Boozin Bitches… ok maybe the bitch part sometimes applied,  but anyone who knows me well knows I don’t drink a lot!!  I miss my boozers so much.  But Hong Kong was a MIT.   I couldn’t go back and replicate that magic.   I tend to grieve MIT’s.  But I think this is the right thing to do.   To attempt  to re-do a MIT usually ends in failure or disaster.

Community
This brings me to my next point.   My word up until yesterday was community.  I’m looking for accommodation.   The requirements are in order of priority:
1. Community
2. Like minded people
3. Energy

Of course price comes into it.. but at the bottom of the list.   Its really important for me to have a community  for my own personal fulfillment. I like to be surrounded or immersed in a community – casual brushes with my people without the awkward date-making that usually accompanies getting to know someone.

My word was community until yesterday because. ..I’ve found the perfect place! And I’ll move in next Monday, everything being equal! Btw.. my word today is ‘do’

My person
Ma – double whammy for you my friend!  Two posts in a row.
Ma is my person.   She always has been.  We ‘get’ each other without the requirement for words. We have history.  Our conversations are long, complex and probably uninteresting to others. . They venture into the early hours.   We are there for each other.  We share similar everything. . ideologies, food, values.   We are Soul Companions.  I would do anything for her and she for me.

I dare you to have fun!
This morning I jumped up. . At 5am.. full of beans. ..Instead of just listening to Spotify, I had my own 30 second dance and singing badly party. .Which was more like a 10 minute dance and singing badly and laughing party. .

I invite you all to crank up the sounds, and get on down to your own 30 second dance party. Celebrate this moment in time. Celebrate you!!! Best performed in your underwear!

Thanks for the inspiration for this post Omari and Chris. .. On your instructions, Omari, I had the BBE – Best Brownie Eva.. At Clear cafe….all vegan with Coconut icecream..it was AMAZEBALLS!!

image

8 comments

  1. Anonymous · October 30, 2014

    Awesome, 30 second dance party coming up, in undies

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kirsty Healey · October 30, 2014

      Who are you anonymous contributor. ??.I really want to know whose about to dance in their undies..

      Like

  2. John Hanna · October 30, 2014

    Mit ..Nice

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mariaadlam · October 31, 2014

    Cristina and Meredith. …I like it! 🙂
    Look out Bali (or wherever we might be) when we get together for a 30 second dance party. ..”I gotta feeling…Woohoo”!!! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Charlie · November 25, 2014

    Some how I missed this blog!! Not sure how but it’s fair to say it struck a chord.. This very fine morning ( or not so we do live in Welly after all..so blowing and cloudy!) my fine young friend Ben ( my eldest son) and I had our very own 30 second or 3 minute ( who was counting) dance party.. Imagine Dragons.. I’m on top of the world. Which is just what you need to hear when you are 7 or 40 and have a big day looming.. Keep dancing Kirsty the are plenty more MITs to come.. C xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

